Eastern Vascular Society
Home   |   Contact
EVS Home
Past Presidents’ Messages
Executive Council
Members Only Area
Annual Meeting
Constitution And Bylaws
Eastern Vascular Society

President's Message

Manish Mehta MD, MPH
Dear Colleagues

It is an honor to serve as the President of the Eastern Vascular Society and I want to thank you for the privilege.

Under Evan Lipsitz’s leadership 2015 was a resoundingly successful year for EVS. Our Society has grown steadfast and stands financially strong with 349 active members, 59 candidate members, 161 senior members, and 13 new members. The EVS 2015 Annual meeting was one of our best. The quality of papers was unsurpassable; we had 105 submissions and 39 podium presentations. In addition there were numerous concurrent sessions focused on vascular residents and fellows, young surgeons, diversity, and health -policy. The culmination of it all was the camaraderie amongst our Society’s members – it was simply a great time to catch up with some old friends and make some new ones along the way.

Our Society’s mission objectives have long been to advance the field of vascular surgery and to improve the delivery of vascular health to the public. We recognize that our specialty has witnessed unprecedented growth over the past decade and initiatives set forth by our past leadership has helped create a strong foundation for us to build on.

Vascular education and awareness initiatives have always been at the epicenter of our society’s core values and it has never been a better time to empower vascular patients to better understand what we have long practiced – 'providing the highest quality of vascular care, education, research, innovation, and awareness' in our communities. The time is now for us to unleash an awareness campaign that puts the spotlight on the vascular patient.

Today our Society members have expanding opportunities to get involved and have input into shaping EVS; there is plenty of work that needs to be done and we need all the help we can get. As your President, it’s my job to identify new members for all of EVS’s active committees and initiatives including:

  1. Bylaws committee,
  2. Issues committee,
  3. Membership committee,
  4. Program committee,
  5. Young Vascular Surgeons committee, and
  6. Development and Women in Vascular Surgery committee.
  7. Vascular Awareness Campaign
If you have interest in joining any of these committees, I would much appreciate it if you could reach out to me at admin@easternvascular.org or 978-927-8330.

I want to thank our Past Presidents and the Executive Council for their active involvement in shaping our Society and look forward to a spirited collaboration amongst the Committees and the members for a productive year ahead. On behalf of EVS, I also want to take this opportunity to thank our Industry sponsors for their generous support and commitment in helping us create solutions to complex vascular problems.

I look forward to seeing you at our 30th Annual Meeting in Philadelphia, September 15-17, 2016.


Manish Mehta MD, MPH

Executive Council:
Manish Mehta, M.D.
Linda M Harris, M.D.
Anil P Hingorani, M.D.
James F. McKinsey, M.D.
Rabih A. Chaer, M.D.
Past President
Marshall E Benjamin, M.D.
Past President
Michael A Golden, M.D.
Past President
Evan C Lipsitz, M.D.
Representative to SVS
Vivian Gahtan, M.D.
Robert Y. Rhee, M.D.
Patrick A Stone, M.D.
Kathleen J Ozsvath, M.D.
EVS Committee Chairs:
Bylaws Committee
Albeir Y. Mousa, M.D.
Development Committee
Peter L. Faires, MD
Diversity and Women in
Vascular Surgery Committee

Venkat R. Kalapatapu, M.D.
Issues Committee
Matthew J. Dougherty, M.D.
Membership Committee
Benjamin M. Jackson, MD
Nominating Committee
Marshall E. Benjamin, M.D.
Program Committee
Michael J. Costanza, M.D.
Young Vascular Surgeons Committee (Co-Chairs)
Grace J. Wang, M.D
& Bao-Ngoc H. Nguyen, M.D.
Ad Hoc Comm for Community Physicians
Alan M. Dietzek, M.D.
Ad Hoc Comm for E- Communications
Darren B Schneider, M.D.

Active Members
Scott Damrauer
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Lorena Gonzalez
Syracuse, New York
Joe Huang
Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey
Luis Lopez-Garcia
Manati, Puerto Rico
Candidate Members
Melissa Shah
Poughkeepsie, New York
Elizabeth Genovese
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Yana Etkin
New York, New York
Christopher Washington
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Habib Khan
West Orange, New Jersey
Taylor Gwin
New Orleans, Louisiana
Adam Ring
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Sikandar Khan
Cheektowaga, New York
- What's New -

30th Annual Meeting September 15-17, 2016
The Westin Philadelphia
Philadelphia, PA

View the Preliminary Program

The EVS congratulates Julie Ann Freischlag, MD, FACS, vice chancellor for human health sciences and dean of the University of California (UC) Davis School of Medicine, and Past-Chair of the American College of Surgeons Board of Regents, on her induction into the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh. Dr. Freischlag oversees UC Davis Health System's academic, research and clinical programs, including the School of Medicine, the Betty Irene Moore School of Nursing, the 1,000-member physician practice group, and UC Davis Medical Center, a 619-bed acute-care hospital.

Before joining the UC Davis Health System, Dr. Freischlag served as professor and chair, department of surgery, and surgeon-in-chief, Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions, Baltimore, MD. She led initiatives to expand research, add specialty clinical services, improve patient-centered care and patient safety, redesign the surgical training program, and enhance academic career paths for faculty. The Academy, established in 1970 as the Institute of Medicine, is an independent organization of professionals from diverse fields, including health and medicine and the natural, social, and behavioral sciences.

Contact the Eastern Vascular Society:

Eastern Vascular Society
500 Cummings Center
Suite 4550
Beverly, MA 01915
phone: 978-927-8330
fax: 978-524-0498
Email EVS

© 2016 Eastern Vascular Society | Privacy Policy